Bridge to Bridge 2017

Burton Amateur Swimming Club’s Bridge to Bridge Swim 2017

This years bridge to bridge swim takes place on Sunday 1st October 2017.  The closing date for entries is Friday 15th September 2017.  To enter please download a copy of the entry form and complete your submission – join us in celebrating 85 years of BASC and make this years event our best yet!

John German Burton Upon Trent are proud to support the Bridge to Bridge swim 2017 – find out more by clicking here

To view the 2017 Bridge to Bridge report click here

The Burton Amateur Swimming Club annual Bridge to Bridge Swim took place on Sunday 1st October at the Meadowside Leisure Centre, Burton.  2017 celebrated 85 years of the event in the town and 25 years at the Meadowside Leisure Centre, Burton.

The original event took place in the River Trent between the Ferry and Trent bridges.  After a short spell in the Branston Gravel pits it moved to the Meadowside Leisure Centre in 1992.

The original event was won by Arthur Benton, a local grammer school boy who went on to become Staffordshire County Champion, Midlands Champion and to hold many records including the Nottingham Bridge to Bridge swim.  Arthur had trials for the British Olympic Team and was also a first class water polo player and represented England any times.

This years event saw a record number of 255 swimmers taking part and also a record number of 15 family teams in this unique community sporting event.  A special presentation was also made on the day to C.R.E.S.T and Beryl Horton for 25 years of support and competing at the event.

All of the BASC committee would like to thank the Consolidated Charities of Burton, Bretby Rotary Club, Burton Albion Football Club, Arthur Price, Darley Ltd, East Staffordshire Borough Council, Education Performance Solutions, Else Law, Hiatt Financial Ltd, John German, Magenta Electronics Ltd, Maria Hanson Foundation, Meadowside Leisure Centre, Needwood Foods Ltd, Staffordshire County Council, Star Foundation, Trent Trophies and Woodchester Swim Caps Ltd for their kind and generous support.  Without their financial support the club would find it very difficult to host this historic community event and we fear it would sadly disappear to the history books.

Many thanks to our guests on the day, the Burton Mayor Simon Gaskin, Margret Heather (Consolidated Charities of Burton), Andrew Smart (Secretary of Bretby Rotary Club) and Councillor Colin Whittaker who all presented the trophies and supported the swimmers.

BASC had a record number of entries in this years Individual and Team events.  After some fantastic swimming they won an amazing 11 events ( 5 teams and 6 individual swimmers).  With a great atmosphere and team mates cheering each other on, the day was a great success.

Many thanks to the army of volunteers who help in the preparation and on the day.  Also a big thank you to Nick Fearnett (Duty Manager of the Meadowside on the day) and all the staff for you support on the day.  Greatly appreciated by all at BASC.

Once again the club would like to say many thanks for everyones support it is greatly appreciated and we look forward to next years event on Sunday 7th October 2018.

Below are some photos of the individual & team winners and the presentation to C.R.E.S.T and Beryl Horton.

Benjamin Wells (Swadlincote Dolphins SC) receiving the original 1932 Curtis Cup for the fastest overall winner from the Burton Mayor, Simon Gaskin.

Jo Latham, Winner of the overall Women’s category, presented by Councillor Colin Whittaker (left) and Burton Mayor, Simon Gaskin.

Sophie Fowkes (Burton ASC) Women Winner12-15 years & 2nd overall fastest winner from Bretby Rotary Club, Andrew Smart.

Matt Gates (Burton ASC) Mens Winner aged 16-19 & 2nd overall fastest winner from Consolidated Charities, Margret Heather.

Holly Bonner (Burton ASC) Women Winner aged 16-19 from Burton Mayor, Simon Gaskin.

Callam Dawson (Burton ASC) Mens winner aged 20-29 from Bretby Rotary Club, Andrew Smart.

Kelly Gates (Burton ASC) Women winner aged 20-29 from Bretby Rotary Club, Andrew Smart.

Jo Stimpson (Burton ASC) Women age winner (we will keep the age a secret) from Bretby Rotary Club, Andrew Smart.

Brian Brooks (far left) and David Hutton (far right) of the BASC Bridge to Bridge organising committee presenting C.R.E.S.T and Beryl Horton with their trophy 25 year award for supporting and taking part in the event.

Burton ASC team aged 12 and under winners presented by Jean Hiatt, BASC Bridge to Bridge organising committee.

Burton ASC team aged 16 under winners presented by David Hutton, BASC Bridge to Bridge organising committee.

Burton ASC Team aged Open Winners.

Leave a Reply